Sweet and white potato gratin with creamy sundried tomato pesto sauce!

2015/01/img_2979.jpg

Wow!

Just: wow!

This is amazing! I think I made up an entire dish in my head!

This is a low fodmap, low fat, high carb, whole foods, plant based gratin made with both white potatoes and sweet potatoes – and a creamy pesto sauce made of sundried tomatoes, oat milk and firm tofu!

And additional flavourings as well, e.g. nutritional yeast.

It´s so satisfying when you get a creative idea of a dish, thinking about how it will taste, and almost like… like you can taste different combinations of ingredients in your mind! “That would taste so and so, if I added tofu as a creamy base and mixed it with oat milk I could get that texture without adding vegan cream substitutions or oil…”

I got the idea for this dish out of two dishes I made the days before. The first dish I wasn´t satisfied with. That was a raw taco dish, with a tomato salsa made of no-oil sundried tomatoes. It was too salt! Then I decided next day to mix that salsa with tofu and oat milk to make a creamy tomato pesto for my pasta dish. It tasted wonderful! And out of that dish I got the idea to use the rest of the pesto sauce in a gratin based on sweet and white potatoes!

Of course I can imagine someone has already made this dish, of course. It´s not like I didn´t get inspiration from a few different sites, like the move of mixing tofu to get a creamy sauce without as much fat as with plant-based creams or oils. But anyway! The combination isn´t one I´ve heard of before… So creative-wise I am very proud of myself right now! 🙂

Creamy sweet and white potato gratin with a not-so-fat sundried tomato pesto

(Sorry, everything is “to taste” here, because I didn´t measure anything!)

Sweet potatoes, a few (limit due to fodmaps if you malabsorb mannitol!)
White potatoes, a lot (this is the base of the gratin)

Tofu, firm (half a block maybe)
Oat milk (at least 1/2 cup)
Sundried tomatoes, a lot (no oil added!)
Small romantica tomatoes, 1:1 to the sundried ones.
Nutritional yeast, a lot (at least 1/2 cup)

Chipotle pepper, ground, to taste
Smoked paprika, ground, to taste
Paprika, ground, to taste
Thyme, to taste
Oregano, to taste
Bazil, to taste
Fresh green chili pepper, one chopped (de-seed if you wish)
Leek and/or chives (green part), chopped
White pepper, to taste
Black pepper, to taste
Balsamic vinegar, to taste
Ketchup, to taste (not too much)
Lemon juice, to taste
Salt, to taste

(Optional: liquid aminos or tamari, to taste)

1. Cut the potatoes (both white and sweet) into thin slices.
2. Mix all the other ingredients to a creamy sauce.

(If you want more saltiness: add more sundried tomatoes.
If you want it thinner: add more oat milk.
If you want it thicker/more creamy: add more firm tofu.
If you want more umami: add more nutritional yeast.
If you want it sweeter: add more romantica tomatoes, balsamic vinegar and/or ketchup.
If you want it more fresh: add more lemon juice or balsamic vinegar.)

3. Spread a layer of sauce at the bottom of a baking dish.

4. Make many layers of potatoes and sauce. Add extra nutritional yeast on the top!

5. Bake in the oven until the potatoes are soft!

And EAT! Hope you will like it as much as I did!

This dish is low in FODMAPs as long as you don´t eat too much sweet potatoes. I used two big sized sweet potatoes for an entire baking dish, and the rest white potatoes. You also need to choose a firm tofu, not a silk tofu.

