Szechuan pepper stir-fry with baked tofu and toasted sesame seeds! WFPB HCLF No Oil Low Fodmaps version

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/8e6/61903452/files/2015/01/img_1667.jpg

Yummie mummie! What a stir-fry! And with no FODMAPs and no oil!

This is a whole foods, plant based stir-fry with baked tofu! Vegan and cruelty-free as a consequence!

First thing: BAKING my tofu is my new thing – and it is fantastic! Cube it, put it on a baking sheet, sprinkle with salt, and bake in oven until golden brown. Then add it to whatever, like this stir-fry or something else!

image
Baked tofu.

Second thing: I bought some szechuan peppers on impulse, and didn´t really know what to do with them. So I googled. I learned that you should toast them on a dry skillet before you crush them to use in a dish.

So I did. Then I mixed them together with 1 tbsp tamari, 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar, a little diced ginger, half a cup of water, some white pepper, red pepper flakes and nutritional yeast. And a teaspoon of sugar. (Though, this year I shall try to stop using white sugar all together. We´ll see if I´ll succeed.) Anyways, I then toasted some sesame seeds in the same dry skillet, and added them to the sauce base as well.

I water-sauted vegetables (bean sprouts, romantica tomatoes, leafy greens) and added my baked tofu and the sauce to the stir-fry. I let it simmer for a while, and then added some corn starch to thicken.

Voila! A perfect szechuan baked tofu stir-fry without added oil! I served it with brown rice, a filling whole starch. And fresh diced chives.

And! For you out there with IBS (Irritable Bowel Syndrome) it´s totally low in FODMAPs!

I think I will do this again tomorrow…

Szechuan Pepper Stir-fry with baked tofu and toasted sesame seeds

Brown rice (one portion)
Tofu (a quarter of a block)
Beansprouts (a lot)
Leafy greens (a lot)
Romantica tomatoes or cherry tomatoes (4-5 diced)
Chives
Minced ginger
Szechuan pepper, one or two teaspoons
Red pepper flakes
White pepper
Tamari, 1 tbsp
Balsamic vinegar, 1 tbsp
Water, 1/2 cup
Sugar, 1 teaspoon
Toasted sesameseeds, a tbsp

1. Cook one portion of brown rice.

2. Cube a quarter of a block of tofu, put it on a baking sheet, sprinkle some salt on top, and bake in oven until lightly golden and crispy on the outside.

3. At the meantime, toast a little szechuan pepper in a dry skillet, remove from heat, let cool, and then crusch to a powder. You should have around 1-2 teaspoons of crusched szechuan peppers.

4. Toast some sesame seeds, about a tablespoon.

5. Mix together the szechuan peppers and the sesame seeds with 1 tbsp tamari, 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar, 1 tsp sugar, 1/2 cup of water, some minced ginger, a dash of white pepper, 1-3 tsp red pepper flakes in a glass, cup or bowl.

6. Water-sauté the beansprouts, leafy greens and diced romantica tomatoes on high heat in a non-stick pan until soft. Do NOT add oil! One tbsp of water is enough to start with, if it get dry and stuck, add a little more. Stir all the time.

7. When soft, add the baked tofu and the sauce base, and simmer for a few minutes.

8. Whisk out some corn starch in just a little water, and add to the pan. Let simmer on low heat until it thickens a little bit. Add nutritional yeast if desired.

9. Serve with the brown rice and freshly diced chives!

I hope you will enjoy it as much as I did!

