The EASIEST vegan low fodmaps PASTA! (Low fat, high carb comfort food!)

IMG_2531-0.JPG

Oh my God, this is so easy and so tasty! Most of us need comfort foods, something that is easy to prepare, something you can do when you lack inspiration, when you lack time, when you lack ingredients in your fridge, but also want something that won’t compromize with taste, health and enjoyment!

Since I’ve got IBS my belly expands when I eat fermentable short-chain sugars, FODMAPs. Eat the wrong thing, and I will seriously look pregnant. Thank God, even comfort foods can be low in FODMAPs, AND vegan. I don’t have to choose.

This pasta is really easy to prepare. Basically, I start with cooking the low FODMAP pasta (this brand is made from rice, corn and millet), and when done, I remove the pasta from the cooking pan, add my sauce ingredients to it, cook it to a boil, and then add the pasta back with the sauce to boil together to make the starch from the pasta thicken the sauce!

That way I don’t have to use high fat vegan creams to make a creamy pasta sauce.

Why do I avoid fat? Well, even though fat is not a FODMAP – it IS a gastro-intestinal irritant! According to PCRM and dr John mcDougall, fat is also linked to all kind of modern welfare diseases. I believe a low fat, whole foods, plant based diet with a lot of starch and whole vegetables is the healthiest diet there is, when it comes to preventing disease.

Anyhow, this is how I make the easiest, tastiest vegan low fodmaps and low fat pasta!

Really easy vegan pasta

Low fodmap pasta (from rice, corn or millet)
Low fodmap plant-based milk (rice, almond, haselnut, oat milk, but NOT soy milk!), not too much
Nutritional yeast
White pepper
Thyme
Salt

1. Cook your pasta al dente in a cooking pan.
2. Remove the pasta when done, and use the same cooking pan for the sauce!
3. Add all the sauce ingredients (not too much milk) to the cooking pan, and heat to a boil.
4. Add the pasta.
5. Cook together until sauce thickens.
6. Sprinkle nutritional yeast on top, and eat!

Optional:
Add a few almonds or hazelnuts – not more than ten – or maybe a maximum of 50 g green peas, if you want more protein. Keeping the limits is important to keep the FODMAPs down, if you’ve got IBS.

Tips: the nutritional yeast is what gives the dish an umami flavour. If you aren’t satisfied with the flavour, add more nutritional yeast. Be careful of adding too much white pepper, if the white pepper is too strong, then the dish will taste bland. You can also add your favourite herbs, and maybe some rose pepper and paprika. Sometimes I cook the sauce for a few minutes more with a bay leaf in it before I add the pasta. On the picture above, I garnished the dish with dill.

