Tempeh in ginger orange sauce and brown rice! Low fat, plant based and low fodmaps!

IMG_2497.JPG

I am kind of new to tempeh. First time I tried it was because I saw the word “tempeh” appearing in the low FODMAPs lists I got from my dietician. Tempeh, together with tofu and seitan, is recommended as a good protein source for vegetarians and vegans who can’t eat a lot of beans and lentils because of their Irritable Bowel Syndrome. It’s made from soybeans, and though many persons with IBS react to the oligo-saccharides in soybeans – the soybeans in tempeh are already fermented so it won’t ferment in the gastro-intestinal system!

Tofu, from soybeans, and seitan, from wheat, is NOT fermented – but they don’t contain the fermentable short-chain sugars for other reasons. Thay’s another story for another post (I’ve written about why seitan is good several times earlier!)

Anyhow, about this tempeh! First time I tasted it was together with sweet potatoes and seaweed. It was okay, but I wasn’t very impressed. The taste was too similar to fish – but on the other hand, I didn’t really do anything special with it besides cooking it.

Then, a few months later, I was served tempeh at a restaurant – and this time I was impressed! It was… sweet and somehow fresh! It tasted like mint and some kind of citrus juice.

How could I make tempeh taste like that? Asking myself that question was how I came up with this recipe! On my way to work, I was thinking about making a marinade tasting like what I ate on the restaurant, and for some reason I came up with the idea of wrapping the tempeh in rice paper spring rolls. You can read about those spring rolls in an earlier post. I used the same marinade as a base for the sauce in this recipe.

Tempeh in orange ginger sauce

A few slices of tempeh
1 big orange (the juice)
2 tbs tamari
1 tbs grated ginger
1 tbs mirin
Dried cumin, to taste
Dried cilantro, to taste
Dried turmeric, to taste
Fresh mint leaves, to taste
Fresh cilantro leaves to taste
A handful of chopped chives (do NOT use garlic or onions! It contains insane amounts of oligos!)
A little lemon juice
A little grated coconut (limit due to fodmaps!)
1 cup of water
1 tsp Buckwheat flour to thicken (or any other low fodmap flour, like potato flour or corn flour)
Maybe a little nutritional yeast, if it lacks that umami taste… 🙂

1. Mix together everything except the water and the buckwheat flour in a bowl.
2. Pre-cook the sliced tempeh by steaming it for 15 minutes to get rid of that fishy taste.
3. Marinate the tempeh slices in the sauce for at least two hours.
4. Remove the tempeh from the sauce, and add the sauce to a non-stick pan. Do not use oil, if you prefer a low fat vegan diet like I do.
5. Heat the sauce to a boil, and then cook on a lower heat.
6. Mix the cold water and the buckwheat flour in a glass, and add to the sauce.
7. Add the tempeh, and cook on a low temperature until the sauce is thickened, and maybe reduced a bit for a more intense flavour.

Serve with brown rice and a side salad with FODMAPs-approved vegetables (like cucumber, cherry tomatoes, spinach, lettuce, sprouts), and a few fresh mint and cilantro leaves on top. Maybe some optional lime juice squeezed on top.

Hope you like it! In my opinion, this is the tastiest way to eat tempeh I’ve tried so far. I tried to make tempeh fake bacons with liquid smoke in the oven, but wasn’t impressed… Can someone tell me how to do them without oil?

